Mental health and the NHS

I went to my weekly therapy session and I have only recently started to feel like I was getting somewhere, I used to dread going to my appointments, mainly because of where my head is at, I don’t trust people easily especially strangers so it has taken me a while to get to the stage I am at now, where I feel comfortable enough to open up.
So now I really appreciate that it was my weekly chance to try to get to the bottom of why I am in such a hopeless place and to find ways to help myself.

But at the end of the session there was a horrible reminder that these sessions are going to come to an abrupt end.

The NHS (in the UK) only provide you with so many sessions of therapy.
I felt my face drop and I started to worry about going back to square one again.
My counsellor probably sensed that and said that I can self refer again, but that would mean being on a waiting list for months again!

I know that there are many people who have to pay to see a counsellor or a therapist, so I do realise that I am lucky that I didn’t have to.
But I could never afford to pay for a private session and I do pay a big chunk of my wages on my tax and national insurance to fund the NHS.
I feel that the mental health services currently  in place are not reaching the standard that we should all expect!
If I was suffering from another chronic illness, I wouldn’t expect to be told that I have to stop my treatment for a few months and go onto a waiting list until it is available again.

So, after feeling some kind of hope during my session, I felt hopeless again at the end!
1 in 4 people will experience a mental health problem at some point in their lives, the message being sent to people who are suffering is to reach out for help, so why isn’t the help available?
Something needs to change so that everyone in this situation doesn’t feel as hopeless as I do now, at an already hopeless time!

Featured image by Marianne Pell
http://mariannepell.co.uk/mental-health-in-the-nhs/

Leave a Reply

